The 2008 edition of the Oatkan Knights have their sights set on a 14th Sectional championship in school history, which would give them the most of any school in Section V history. Head Coach Brian Moran enters his 20th season at LeRoy, boasting an impressive 158 wins and 12 sectional championships. The 12 championships are the most by any coach, active or retired in Section V. Before doing so, they most overcome the shortfall of 18 seniors from last season, including All Greater Rochester players John Whiting and Brady Bonacquisti. The biggest loss of the off season was the passing of long time assistant coach Don "Hooks" Robertson. Hooks was an inspiration to all who knew him.

Three-year starters Travis Fenstermaker (2nd team AGR, 2nd team All-State), Mike Humphrey (LCAA All-star), and Jordan Casper (LCAA All-Star) look to make their own marks on the football program. All three have been a huge part of the Section V Championships of the past 2 seasons.
A third title would tie a previous school mark of consecutive championships ('94, '95, '96). The season gets started on the road against rival Batavia, followed up with the home opener against Letchworth. Also on the schedule is a big road game versus Avon, and the regular season ends with home matchups with Cal-Mum and Hornell. Cal-Mum has moved down to Class D this season so the Oct. 10th clash at Hartwood Park is the only possible showdown between these small school powerhouses. The Oatkan Knights enter this season with a winning streak at home that extends back to the 5th week of the 1998 season! Another impressive streak is that the LeRoy varsity football squad has been New York state ranked at the end of the season for 14 consecutive years (9 times in the Top 5):

1994-19th, 1995-1st, 1996-2nd, 1997-7th, 1998-4th (incredibly with 4 losses). 1999-4th, 2000-12th, 2001-7th, 2002-2nd, 2003-15th, 2004-2nd, 2005-5th, 2006-4th, 2007-4th

Other key players this season for the Knights will be seniors Andrew Alexander, Joe Carubia, John Kelso, Alex Cardenas, Brian Calmes, John Scheuing, Tyrone Wyckoff, Brock Pasquale and Joe Schwab. Juniors Jon Casper, Quentin Humphrey, Eric Stella, Vince Kovach, and sophomore Josh Sackett look to make the jump from the junior varsity to become key contributors on the varsity.

Head coach Moran, along with his assistants Andrew Paladino, Ron Plummer, Jim Bonacquisti and Dell Storey look to continue their success with a program that has amassed a record of 75-12 over the past 8 seasons of the 2000's, an 86% winning percentage. The 2008 Knights want to make their own stamp on this great program, so come on out support your hometown Oatkan Knights at both Hartwood Park and on the road. Good luck Knights!

Preview provided by Coach B, Jim Bonacquisti



Head Coach Brian Moran

Andrew Paladino
Defensive Coordinator
Ron Plummer
Offensive Coordinator
Jim Bonacquisti
Asst Coach
Dell Storey
Asst Coach

2008 LeRoy Oatkan Knights Varsity Football

Row 1 (front) - Anthony Macaluso, Andrew Alexander, Travis Fenstermaker, Mike Humphrey, Quentin Humphrey, Joe Schwab, John Scheuing. Row 2 - Mike Gombos, Brock Pasquale, Jesse Brennan, Nick Condidorio, Don Pangrazio, John Locke, Brandon Smith, Vince Kovach. Row 3 - Josh Casper, Mike Sanchez, Corey Poulton, Dylan Ashley, Eric Stella, Jordan Boyd, Josh Sackett, Jon Casper. Row 4 - Jordan Casper, Brian Calmes, Andrew Miller, Joe Carubia, Joe Kilby, John Kelso, Alex Cardenas, Ben Carlie, Zack Reed. Not pictured - Tyrone Wyckoff.


- 2008 LeRoy Varsity Football Captains -
Travis Fenstermaker (1) , Jordan Casper (51) ,
Andrew Alexander (24) , Mike Humphrey (7)