The 2009 Oatkan Knights will be working to add another Section 5 championship trophy to their current Section V record 14 sectional crowns. The road won't be easy as the Knights are playing in Division 1 of the LCAA this season. On the schedule are perennial powers Hornell and Bath. The Knights will also play Livonia, Dansville, and Way-Co for the first time in over 10 years. October 9th finds the Knights at Hamilton Field in Caledonia to take on the archrival Caledonia Red Raiders. Class C in Section V is laden with talented squads this season as Pembroke, Marcus Whitman, Letchworth, and most notably Bishop Kearney return with offensive and defensive firepower.

LeRoy head coach Brian Moran enters his 21st season at the helm with an impressive career coaching record of 168-42-2 (.793 career win percentage), as well as a Section 5 record 13 sectional titles as a coach. The Oatkan Knights sport an incredible 85-13 record in the decade of the 2000's, an 87% win percentage. The LeRoy football program has never posted a sub .500 win percentage for any full decade in their storied 112 years of existence. The team has won 3 out of every 4 games they have played since 1970.

The 2009 Knights will have a tall order to replace the likes of graduated all-stars Jordan Casper, Travis Fenstermaker, Andrew Alexander, and Mike Humphrey who led the '08 Knights to a 10-1 record, #3 final state ranking, all the while averaging a school record 41 points per contest. Senior Quentin Humphrey takes over at QB looking to make his own mark on the football program. Joining him in the backfield are fellow seniors Jon Casper, Anthony Macaluso, and junior Rick Henry. Seniors Eric Stella, Josh Sackett, and Vince Kovach hope to utilize their experience from last season to help anchor the offensive line.

Juniors Cal Whiting, Mike Bennetti, Ben Eadie, and senior Joe Kilby look to battle it out for the remaining offensive line positions. Junior Austin Steinbrenner will be strong at TE. Junior Tyler Fenstermaker, along with seniors Jake Schultz, Dylan Ashley, Nick Condidorio, and Jesse Brennan should be Humphrey's favorite pass targets. Other key players for the Knights will be Brandon Monteleone, Mike Gombos, Jake Harvey, Mark Kelso, and Josh Kosiorek.

The Oatkan Knights enter this season with a 43-game winning streak at home that extends back to the 5th week of the 1998 season. Another impressive streak is that the LeRoy varsity football squad has been New York state ranked at the end of the season for 15 consecutive years (10 times in the Top 5):

1994-19th, 1995-1st, 1996-2nd, 1997-7th, 1998-4th (incredibly with 4 losses). 1999-4th, 2000-12th, 2001-7th, 2002-2nd, 2003-15th, 2004-2nd, 2005-5th, 2006-4th, 2007-4th, 2008-3rd

Head coach Moran will once again be joined by defensive coordinator Andrew Paladino and special teams coach Jim Bonacquisti. Former JV head coaches Jeff Condidorio and Brad Dietsch will split the role of offensive coordinator, as they fill the void left by highly successful O-coordinator Ron Plummer who takes over the calling of offensive plays for the Brighton Barons of the Monroe County Football league. The 2009 Oatkan Knights want to make their own stamp on this great program, so come on out and support the team at both Hartwood Park and on the road. Good luck Knights!

Preview provided by Coach B, Jim Bonacquisti



Head Coach Brian Moran

Andrew Paladino
Defensive Coordinator
Jeff Condidorio
Offensive Coordinator
Brad Dietsch
Offensive Coordinator
Jim Bonacquisti
Asst Coach

2009 LeRoy Oatkan Knights Varsity Football

Row 1 (front) - Mike Gombos, Tyler Fenstermaker, Anthony Privitera, Ryan Frank, Jake Harvey, Brad Morgan, Jerry Green, Anthony Macaluso. Row 2 - Quentin Humphrey, Jon Casper, Nick Condidorio, Josh Sackett, Vince Kovach, Evan Spink, Matt Lyon, Brandon Monteleone, Tim Wortman. Row 3 - Brandon Smith, Mark Kelso, Nick Stalnecker, Steve Dumbleton, Austin Steinbrenner, Jesse Brennan, Cal Whiting, Rick Henry. Row 4 - Jordan Boyd, Mike Bennetti, Jake Seppe-Schultz, Josh Kosiorek, Joe Kilby, Dylan Ashley, Zach Plath, Eric Stella, Ben Eadie. (Image - Cardinal Sports Imaging)


- 2009 LeRoy Varsity Football Captains -
Quentin Humphrey (7) , Jon Casper (43) ,
Eric Stella (57) , Josh Sackett (70)

Referee Bob Lockhart relives his glory days before the scrimmage commences.
(Is that the Heisman or the Captain Morgan pose?)


Jeff Condidorio will split duties as Offensive Coordinator.
Head coach Brian Moran talks it over with the Knights.
Jr. Ben Eadie (left) and Sr. Vinny Kovach listen in on the play call.
Senior lineman Brendon Smith fires off the line.
Junior halfback Rick Henry awaits the snap of the ball.
The Men of Jenny Craig Weight Loss Systems.
Rugged senior Josh Sackett fights off the Franklin foe.
The LeRoy D takes the field to lay down some hits.
Senior Mike Gombos prepares to attack on D.
Junior Austin Steinbrenner flushes into the Franklin backfield.
Junior Jake Harvey is too quick for the Franklin blocker.
Big things (and hits) are expected of tough Cal Whiting.
Senior Nick Condidorio goes up high to snag an interception.
Senior HB Anthony Macaluso looks to turn the corner.
Jrs Austin Steinbrenner (77) & Mark Kelso open a big hole for A-Mac.
Sr. Eric Stella (57) & Cal Whiting provide the push for FB Mark Kelso.
LeRoy senior Quentin Humphrey will showcase his versatility all season long on offense, defense, and special teams.



Special teams coach Jim Bonacquisti.
Defensive mastermind Andrew Paladino.
Co O-Coordinator Brad Dietsch.
Powerful Jon Casper returns at FB.
Junior Josh Kosiorek lines up at DE.
Senior Eric Stella, C and DE.