The LeRoy Oatkan Knights are on a gridiron quest. 2009 saw the team miss the Section 5 sectional football playoffs for the first time in 17 years. The 2010 playoffs were also an early out for the locals as they lost on the road to a rugged Holley squad. This year's group of Knights is a blend of youth combined with some very talented upperclassmen in the skill positions. Standing in the way of the Knights' goal of an extended run into the playoffs are some of the state's strongest and most talented small school football programs.

The 2011 opener is Friday, September 2nd as the Wayland-Cohocton Golden Eagles travel up to Hartwood Park looking for a 3rd consecutive win over the Knights. The Eagles, along with Holley, are considered 2 of the very best in Section 5 Class C this season.

The Warsaw Tigers arrive at Hartwood Park for Game 2 on Friday, September 9th. The first road game for Brian Moran's squad will be a Week 3 trip over to Avon on Friday, September 16th as the Knights look to avenge last year's loss to the host Braves. Game 4 sees a renewal of the Batavia-LeRoy rivalry as an improved Blue Devils program hits the LeRoy turf on Friday, September 23rd. The regular season home stand concludes a week later on September 30th against a hungry Perry Yellow Jackets squad.

The final 2 games of the regular season could not be any tougher to play on the road. The Knights take on the 2-time defending Section 5 champions Letchworth Indians, who are led by LeRoy alum and head coach Tim "Sticks" McMullen on Friday, October 7th at Letchworth High. Letchworth looks to maintain their rugged style of play that saw them shut out each of their 7 regular season opponents during their 2010 campaign.

The 78th edition of The Game follows on Week 7 (October 14th) as the Knights take on the very talented Red Raiders of Caledonia-Mumford at Hamilton Field in Caledonia. The 2010 Red Raiders finished last year as the #2 in the state in Class D, falling in the finals to a super-quick Tuckahoe squad from Section 1. The Red Raiders bring back much talent from last year's team and will again be a New York small school power under new coach John Walther.

Looking to guide the Oatkan Knights through this season are senior captains Jake Risewick and Andy Lowe, along with juniors Marcus Mistersaro (2010 LCAA all-star) and Archie Cappotelli.
Speedsters Tom McQuillen (Sr.) and Dylan Johnson (Jr.) will be getting a lot of the touches as the two main running backs, while junior Kylan Carter will look to make his mark rushing the ball in his first varsity season. Seniors Gino Forte, and Jeremy Poles, along with Mistersaro, lead the receiving crew for QB Lowe. Trent Fenstermaker, Ethan Olsowski, Archie Cappotelli, Risewick, Jayce Seeley, and Jared Resch all will be competing for spots along the offensive line.

Sophomores Steve Cappotelli and Eric Egeling will both be key contributors defensively in their first varsity season. David Leach, Sean McMullen, and the Gallucci brothers - Joe and Anthony - will all be counted on to make an impact on defense and special teams.

Brian Moran enters his 23rd season as head coach along with long time assistants Andrew Paladino (defensive coordinator - 27 total season, 23 with Moran) and Jim Bonacquisti (special teams - 17 seasons). Brian Herdlein enters his second season as the offensive coordinator for the Oatkan Knights.

Jim Bonacquisti - LR Special Teams Coach


The LeRoy football program has 566 total victories since its inception in 1897. The team has won nearly 2 out of every 3 games it has played for 113 years.

Brian Moran has a career record of 174-53-2 for his 22-year tenure. Winning percentage is 76%. His 13 sectional titles are the most for one individual coach in Section 5 history. LeRoy's total of 14 sectional crowns is tied with neighbor Cal-Mum for the most team titles in Section 5 history.

The Oatkan Knights have won 73.3% of their 397 games played since 1970. I have personally witnessed 90-95% of those games.

Senior RB Tom McQuillen was the all-purpose yards leader for the varsity in 2010 with 1019 yards. He averaged 137.2 yards/game for an impressive 8.8 yards per carry. His 9 TDs were the most on the team.

Junior RB Dylan Johnson averaged 6.8 yards per rush in 2010, scoring 6 TDs for the varsity.

Leading tackler Marcus Mistersaro returns for his junior year. Last year he was selected ALL-LCAA for his team leading 50 tackles including 6.5 for lost yardage by the opponent.

Junior Archie Cappotelli, the team's 5th leading tackler in 2010 with 34, returns for his junior season, and will be a force on both sides of the ball. Brother Steve Cappotelli joins his older brother on the varsity this season after just one JV season and will be counted on for his defensive prowess.

Varsity newcomer Kylan Carter led last year's 5-3 JV team in all-purpose yardage and averaged an amazing 21.8 yards per pass reception.

Freshman Tommy Kelso has been pulled up to the varsity this season for his keen defensive skills and excellent wrap-up tackling technique. Last season TK was the leading rusher on the JVs with 559 yards, averaging 5.4 yards/carry.

Sophomore Peter Privitera has moved up to varsity for his uncanny speed which enabled him to average a whopping 10.5 yards/carry on the 2010 JV squad, while notching 8 TDs. His speed and strength combine to make him a very effective defensive contributor.

Trent Fenstermaker led the JVs in tackles in 2010 and like his older brothers Travis and Tyler before him, he can contribute in all phases of the game = offense, defense, and special teams.

Jayce Seeley will be the team's punter this season after averaging 33.4 yards a boot on the JVs last year. His long punt of 52 yards allowed the Jr. Knights the opportunity to hold on and defeat an unbeaten Hornell Red Raider JV squad that visited Hartwood Park in the 2010 season finale.



Head Coach Brian Moran

Andrew Paladino
Defensive Coordinator
Brian Herdlein
Offensive Coordinator
Jim Bonacquisti
Special Teams Coach

2011 LeRoy Oatkan Knights Varsity Football

Row 1 (front) - Archie Cappotelli, Steven Gately, Jake Risewick, Anthony Bomasuto, Kylan Carter, Jason Perry, Eric Egeling, Sean McMullen, Tom McQuillen. Row 2 - Gino Forte, Anthony Gallucci, Dylan Johnson, Dave Leach, Joe Gallucci, Chris DeFelice, Ethan Olsowski, Trent Fenstermaker. Row 3 (rear) - Charlie Snell, Marcus Mistersaro, Jared Resch, Jeremy Poles, Jayce Seeley, Alex Dunn, Andy Lowe, Steve Cappotelli. (Team photo by Cardinal Sports Imaging)