Le Roy Oatkan Knights Football look
strong in quest for their 15th Section V title

Nate Rider - Batavia Daily News Sports

LE ROY - On 14 other occasions, it has been the Le Roy football team that has provided the heartbreak for other Section 5 clubs. Yet in the last two seasons, it has been the Oatkan Knights that have been on the other side of the ball as they have been unceremoniously denied the program's 15th Section 5 crown.

Two years ago it was then-powerhouse Hornell and last season it was upstart Wayland-Cohocton that stunned Le Roy in capturing the Eagles first ever sectional title. Though this season, in the final fall of head coach Brian Moran's and defensive coordinator Andrew Paladino's illustrious careers, the Oatkan Knights appear to be in primed position to push forward for the 14th title in Moran's career.

Back-to-back 8-2 seasons have disappointingly ended in the Class C finals the past two seasons; however, Moran - who enters his 26th season on the sidelines with an impressive 193-62-2 record - will have a full compliment of stars back on the gridiron for his final season.

The Oatkan Knight's last sectional title came in 2008, while the program won three straight crowns on two separate occasions - 1994-96 and 2006-2008 - and seven of nine from 1994-2002.

With the departure of the graduated Peter Privitera (188 carries-854 yards and nine touchdowns), the bulk of the running duties will likely fall to senior workhorse Tom Kelso, who ran 101 times for 653 yards and six touchdowns a season ago.

Junior Nick Egeling, who had a solid sophomore season with 266 yards rushing and three TDs on 43 touches, will also be in the mix, as will senior Jake Henry (11-113, 1 TD).

Under center for his third season will be quarterback Mike McMullen, whose progress over the last two years has allowed Moran and offensive coordinator Brian Herdlein to open up the offense more than many times in the past. As a junior, McMullen went 73-of-148 through the air for 1,333 yards and an impressive 23 touchdowns against just five interceptions.

What is more impressive for the Le Roy offense is that they will return all 6 players who accounted for a pass catch a season ago, led by senior wide receiver Ryan McQuillen, who led the team in 2013 with 30 catches for 514 yards and 13 touchdowns.

Don't be surprised if you see McQuillen getting some touches in the backfield as well, something the Oatkan Knights experimented with at times last season, including in the loss to Way-Co.

Senior Jon Pierce also returns after a 14-catch, 261 yard junior year that resulted in five TDs.
Egeling (10-150, 2 TDs), Kelso (10-126, 1 TD), Brian Hodges (3-110, 1 TD) and Jake Henry (1-5) are all back for their final seasons in the red and black.

The only question mark for the Oatkan Knights will be the play in the trenches as they lost the likes of Brandon Van Grol, Anthony Paladino and Steve Cappotelli to graduation. This year's lines will feature some good size and foot speed among the big boys.

The lines will likely feature the 2-way efforts of senior Mike Shepard, junior Dave Englerth, junior Reed Kacur, soph Lukas Hogle, and all-county Kody Lamkin. Soph Ben Carmichael has been pulled up to the varsity as a result of his excellent off-season work efforts. Kelso, Egeling, Henry, Hodges, and Tyler Prinz will be quick to the attack as linebackers. The experienced defensive backfield will feature seniors McMullen, McQuillen, and Pierce.


Seniors Mike McMullen, Ryan McQuillen, Tom Kelso, Kody Lamkin


Head Coach Brian Moran

Andrew Paladino
Defensive Coordinator
Brian Herdlein
Offensive Coordinator
Brad Dietsch
Line Coach
Jim Bonacquisti
Special Teams Coach

2014 LeRoy Oatkan Knights Varsity Football

Front Row 1: Manager Justin, Justin Green, Ryan McQuillen, Tom Kelso, Jake McAvoy, Tyler Prinz, Dalton Seeley, Konnor McCowen, Anthony Natigro, Manager Koukides.
Row 2: Mike Shepard, Jon Pierce, Cody Resch, Mike McQuillen, Dave Englerth, Kyle Hobart, Mike Leubner, Jake Henry, Lukas Hogle.
Row 3: Coach Brian Moran, Nate Montoya, Benny Piazza, Tom Wood, Matt Privitera, Nate Flint, Luke Mortimer, Nick Shepard, Quinn Calcote, Trainer Kara Miller, Manager Don Pangrazio.
Row 4: Mike McMullen, Brandon Hodge, Zach Harper, Reed Kacur, Ben Carmichael, Nick Egeling, Kody Lamkin, Brian Hodges, Clint Nickens, Coach Andrew Paladino.
Back Row 5: Coach Travis Fenstermaker, Coach Mike Humphrey, Coach Pete Greene, Media John Mangefrida, Coach Brian Herdlein, Coach Jim Bonacquisti, Manager Dan Pasquale, Coach Brad Dietsch, Coach Eon Koukides, Coach Jeff Condidorio.